This site  The Web 


Chicago Headline Club Lisagor Awards


Chicago Sun-Times Editor-in-Chief, Don Hayner and Chicago Tribune Managing Editor Jane Hirt to Keynote


The Chicago Headline Club proudly presents the Windy City's biggest media blockbuster event of the year The 32nd ANNUAL Peter Lisagor Awards For Exemplary Journalism, Showcasing the best and brightest work in Chicago including:The Watchdog Award For Excellence in Public Interest Reporting &The Lifetime Achievement Awards on Friday, April 24, 2009 at the:


Union League Club
65 West Jackson Boulevard
Chicago, IL


Cocktails in the Crystal Room at 5:30 p.m.
Dinner Reception begins at 7 p.m.


For tickets and information go to the Headline Club website -



Chicago/Midwest NATAS Silver Circle Honors Dinner


The Silver Circle Honors dinner will be held on Friday, April 24, 2009 at the Millennium Knickerbocker Hotel, 163 East Walton Place, in downtown Chicago.  Silver Circle honors outstanding individuals who have devoted a quarter of a century or more to the television industry and have made a significant contribution to Chicago broadcasting.  The Chicago/Midwest chapter is pleased to induct the following seven outstanding individuals for 2009: 


Elizabeth Brackett - Correspondent and Segment Host, Chicago Tonight, WTTW-TV Channel 11

Marcia Dantis - Courtroom Artist, WBBM-TV CBS 2 Chicago

Paul M. Davis - Veteran Broadcaster and News Director, WGN-TV Channel 9

Arne Harris (posthumous) -  Producer/Director, Chicago Cubs baseball, WGN-TV Sports Channel 9

Robin Robinson - Anchor, WFLD-TV Fox News Chicago

Jim Stricklin - Videographer, NBC5 Chicago/NBC News

Jerry Taft - Meteorologist, WLS-TV ABC7 Chicago


Your host for the evening is ABC7 Chicago's Frank Mathie, who is also a past Silver Circle Honoree.  For tickets and information please call 312-369-8600 or send an e-mail to  For information on all aspects of the Chicago/Midwest Chapter of the National Academy of Television Arts and Sciences (NATAS) including a list of past Silver Circle recipients click here.


Chicago Bar Association Announces the 2009 Herman Kogan Media Awards
Named in honor of one of Chicago’s most treasured journalists, The Chicago Bar Association Herman Kogan Media Awards were conceived to honor local journalists and to celebrate the career of Herman Kogan, a
true friend of The Chicago Bar Association.  In addition to receiving the prestigious Herman Kogan Media Award, a $1,000 educational scholarship donation is made to the journalism or communications department of the college or university of choice for each Herman Kogan Award winner. Over the past 19 years, more than $30,000 in scholarship money has been distributed to more than 20 colleges and universities.
At the discretion of the Herman Kogan  Awards Judging Panel, a meritorious achievement award may be made to truly exceptional "runner-up” entries.
Awards will be given to the winning journalists and media organizations at a luncheon to be held in May at Peterrinos, located at 150 N. Dearborn Street, Chicago. For ticket information, please call The Chicago Bar Association at (312)554-2013.





Enter supporting content here